Public Health Accreditation Board
Years Available
2013 to present
Mode of Collection
Census: collection of information from all possible events and entities being reviewed.
The Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB) is the national nonprofit organization that accredits tribal, toba, local, and territorial governmental public health agencies. The goal of this voluntary program is to improve and protect the health of the public by advancing and transforming the quality and performance of public health departments. PHAB, with support from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, has established national consensus standards for public health agencies. Public health agencies that apply for accreditation must submit documentation to demonstrate conformity with a series of standards that address the 10 Essential Public Health Services. Their documentation is reviewed by a team of peers who also conduct an in-person site visit and develop a report. The PHAB Accreditation Committee reviews the reports and determines whether to accredit applicant health departments. A PHAB-accredited public health department is accredited for five years. When initial accreditation expires, the health department must apply for, and successfully complete, the reaccreditation process in order to maintain accreditation status. While the standards are the same as those in initial accreditation, the reaccreditation requirements are different and fewer and are designed to assess continuous improvement. Reaccreditation also requires health departments to report on population health outcomes, which will help to inform and document the evidence for how accreditation contributes to changes in health outcomes.
Population Covered
Tribal, state, local, and territorial governmental public health agencies.