Share Your Ideas

The Biden-Harris Administration is calling on all Americans to join us to achieve the goal of ending hunger and reducing diet-related diseases and disparities in the U.S. Anti-hunger and nutrition advocates. Food companies. The health care community. Local, state, U.S. territory, and Tribal governments. People who’ve experienced the impact of hunger or heart disease or hypertension. Everyone. Leading up to the Conference, the White House is hosting virtual, regional listening sessions to hear your ideas and learn about your experiences. 

Regional Listening Sessions:

These listening sessions are open to the public, and we encourage you to register for the region you live in. 

  • South: June 1, 2022, 9am-11am MDT/10am-12pm CDT/11am-1pm EDT*
  • Midwest & Mountains: June 3, 2022, 11am-1pm MDT/12pm-2pm CDT/1pm-3pm EDT*
  • Northeast, MidAtlantic, Puerto Rico, & Virgin Islands: June 7, 2022, 10am-12pm EDT*
  • West Coast & Pacific: June 9, 3pm-5pm PDT*
  • Spanish-only (all regions): June 13, 2022, 1pm-3pm EDT

*Language interpreters offered in Chinese, Vietnamese, and Korean.

White House Conference Pillars

The listening sessions will include breakout sessions based on the five pillars that define the scope of White House Conference on Hunger, Nutrition, and Health. They are meant to help guide our efforts to identify actions that can be taken across all sectors. The five pillars are: 

  1. Improve food access and affordability: End hunger by making it easier for everyone — including urban, suburban, rural, and Tribal communities — to access and afford food. For example, expand eligibility for and increase participation in food assistance programs and improve transportation to places where food is available. 
     
  2. Integrate nutrition and health: Prioritize the role of nutrition and food security in overall health, including disease prevention and management, and ensure that our health care system addresses the nutrition needs of all people. 
     
  3. Empower all consumers to make and have access to healthy choices: Foster environments that enable all people to easily make informed healthy choices, increase access to healthy food, encourage healthy workplace and school policies, and invest in public messaging and education campaigns that are culturally appropriate and resonate with specific communities. 
     
  4. Support physical activity for all: Make it easier for people to be more physically active (in part by ensuring that everyone has access to safe places to be active), increase awareness of the benefits of physical activity, and conduct research on and measure physical activity. 
     
  5. Enhance nutrition and food security research: Improve nutrition metrics, data collection, and research to inform nutrition and food security policy, particularly on issues of equity, access, and disparities.