Print this section


The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the U.S. Department of Agriculture acknowledge the work of the 2015 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee whose recommendations informed revisions for this edition of the Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee Members

Barbara Millen, DrPH, RD; Alice H. Lichtenstein, DSc; Steven Abrams, MD; Lucile Adams-Campbell, PhD; Cheryl Anderson, PhD, MPH; J. Thomas Brenna, PhD; Wayne Campbell, PhD; Steven Clinton, MD, PhD; Gary Foster, PhD (May–August 2013); Frank Hu, MD, PhD, MPH; Miriam Nelson, PhD; Marian Neuhouser, PhD, RD; Rafael Pérez-Escamilla, PhD; Anna Maria Siega-Riz, PhD; Mary Story, PhD, RD. Consultants: Timothy S. Griffin, Ph.D.; Michael W. Hamm, Ph.D.; Michael G. Perri, Ph.D., ABPP.

The Departments also acknowledge the work of the departmental scientists, staff, and policy officials responsible for the production of this document.

Policy Officials

HHS: Karen B. DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc; Howard K. Koh, MD, MPH; Don Wright, MD, MPH.

USDA: Kevin W. Concannon; Angela Tagtow, MS, RD, LD; Jackie Haven, MS, RD.

Policy Document Writing Staff

Richard Olson, MD, MPH; Kellie Casavale, PhD, RD; Colette Rihane, MS, RD; Eve Essery Stoody, PhD; Patricia Britten, PhD; Jill Reedy, PhD, MPH, RD; Elizabeth Rahavi, RD; Janet de Jesus, MS, RD; Katrina Piercy, PhD, RD; Amber Mosher, MPH, RD; Stephenie Fu; Jessica Larson, MS, RD; Anne Brown Rodgers (Editor).

Policy Document Reviewers/Technical Assistance

The Departments acknowledge the contributions of numerous other internal departmental scientists who provided consultation and extensive review throughout the production of this document. Additionally, the Departments acknowledge the external, independent peer reviewers for their work to ensure technical accuracy in the translation of the science into policy.

Finally, the Departments would like to acknowledge the important role of those who provided public comments throughout this process.