This page has been archived.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2005

U.S. Department of Agriculture


The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) acknowledge the recommendations of the Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee—the basis for this edition. The Committee consisted of Janet C. King, Ph.D., R.D. (chair), Lawrence J. Appel, M.D., M.P.H., Benjamin Caballero, M.D., Ph.D., Fergus M. Clydesdale, Ph.D., Penny M. Kris-Etherton, Ph.D., R.D., Theresa A. Nicklas, Dr.P.H., M.P.H., L.N., F. Xavier Pi-Sunyer, M.D., M.P.H., Yvonne L. Bronner, Sc.D., R.D., L.D., Carlos A. Camargo, M.D., Dr.P.H., Vay Liang W. Go, M.D., Joanne R. Lupton, Ph.D., Russell R. Pate, Ph.D., Connie M. Weaver, Ph.D., and the scientific writer/editor, Carol Suitor, Sc.D.

The Departments also acknowledge the work of the departmental scientists, staff, and policy officials responsible for the production of this document:

From HHS:  Laura Lawlor, Michael O'Grady, Ph.D., Cristina Beato, M.D., Les Crawford, D.V.M., Ph.D., Barbara Schneeman, Ph.D., Kathryn McMurry, M.S., Deb Galuska, Ph.D., Van Hubbard, M.D., Ph.D., Mary Mazanec, M.D., J.D., Penelope Royall, P.T., M.S.W., Laina Bush, M.B.A., Diane Thompson M.P.H., R.D., Susan Anderson, M.S., R.D., Jean Pennington, R.D., Ph.D., Susan M. Krebs-Smith, Ph.D., R.D., Wendy Johnson-Taylor, Ph.D., Kim Stitzel, M.S., R.D., Jennifer Weber, R.D., M.P.H., Pamela E. Starke-Reed, Ph.D., Paula R. Trumbo, Ph.D., Jennifer Seymour, Ph.D., Darla Danford, D.Sc., M.P.H., R.D., Christine Dobday, Donna Robie Howard, Ph.D., Ginny Gunderson, and Adam Michael Clark, Ph.D.

From USDA:  Beth Johnson, M.S., R.D., Eric Bost, Eric Hentges, Ph.D., Kate Coler, Rodney Brown, Ph.D., Carole Davis, M.S., R.D., Dorothea K. Vafiadis, M.S., Joan M.G. Lyon, M.S., R.D., L.D., Trish Britten, Ph.D., Molly Kretsch, Ph.D., Pamela Pehrsson, Ph.D., Jan Stanton, M.S., M.B.A., R.D., Susan Welsh, Ph.D., Joanne Guthrie, M.P.H., R.D., Ph.D., David Klurfeld, Ph.D., Gerald F. Combs, Jr., Ph.D., Beverly Clevidence, Ph.D., Robert Mitchell Russell, M.D., Colette I. Thibault, M.S., R.D., L.D., Sedigheh-Essie Yamini, Ph.D., R.D., Kristin L. Marcoe, M.B.A., R.D., and David M. Herring, M.S.

The Departments also acknowledge the important role of those who provided input and public comments throughout this process. Finally, the Departments acknowledge the contributions of numerous other internal departmental scientists and staff that contributed to the production of this document, including the members of the Independent Scientific Review Panel who peer reviewed the recommendations of the document to ensure they were based on a preponderance of scientific evidence.

Return to Table of Contents

Updated Wednesday, July 09, 2008 by ODPHP Web Support