Advisory Committee

Committee Members

The 2015 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee reviewed the body of scientific and medical evidence in nutrition and prepared an Advisory Report for the Secretaries of HHS and USDA. The Advisory Report provides an evidence base for HHS and USDA as the Departments update the 2010 Dietary Guidelines for the 2015 edition.

Barbara Millen, DrPH, RD

Millennium Prevention
Westwood, MA

Vice Chair
Alice H. Lichtenstein, DSc

Tufts University
Boston, MA


Steven Abrams, MD
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX

Lucile Adams-Campbell, PhD
Georgetown University Medical Center
Washington, DC

Cheryl Anderson, PhD, MPH
University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, CA

J. Thomas Brenna, PhD
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY

Wayne Campbell, PhD
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN

Steven Clinton, MD, PhD
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH

Frank Hu, MD, PhD, MPH
Harvard School of Public Health
Boston, MA

Miriam Nelson, PhD
Tufts University
Boston, MA

Marian Neuhouser, PhD, RD
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, WA

Rafael Pérez-Escamilla, PhD
Yale School of Public Health
New Haven, CT

Anna Maria Siega-Riz, PhD, RD
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC

Mary Story, PhD, RD
Duke University
Durham, NC

Dr. Gary Foster assumed a new position shortly after being appointed as a member of the 2015 Advisory Committee. Due to the significant demands of his new role, Dr. Foster resigned his Advisory Committee appointment in August 2013.