Skip to main content Skip to section navigation logo

Consultants to Subcommittees of the 2015 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee

Consultants are individuals sought by a subcommittee to participate in subcommittee discussions and decisions on an ongoing basis but are not members of the full Committee. Like Committee members, consultants complete training and have been reviewed and cleared through a formal process within the Federal government.

The following three consultants have been identified to serve as members of a subcommittee:

Timothy S. Griffin, Ph.D.

Director, Agriculture Food and Environment Program; Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy; Tufts University; Boston, MA.

Dr. Griffin is a faculty co-director for the Tufts Institute for the Environment and is an associate professor at the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy. His research expertise and interests include the intersection of agriculture and the environment, and the development and implementation of sustainable production systems. Dr. Griffin has conducted education and outreach efforts to develop state- and regional-level educational programs in sustainable agriculture and nutrient management. He has given numerous presentations to growers, scientists, and farm advisors to further this effort. Dr. Griffin earned his Ph.D. in crop and soil science. He was previously a research agronomist and lead scientist at the USDA Agriculture Research Service New England Plant Soil and Water Lab (2000-2008) and as Extension Sustainable Agriculture Specialist at the University of Maine (1992-2000). Dr. Griffin has been selected to serve as a member of the Food Sustainability and Safety Subcommittee.

Michael W. Hamm, Ph.D.

C.S. Mott Professor of Sustainable Agriculture; Departments of Community Sustainability, Food Science and Human Nutrition, and Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences; Michigan State University (MSU); East Lansing, Michigan.

At MSU he is director of the Center for Regional Food Systems which bolsters MSU’s teaching, research, and outreach around regional, community-based food systems within Michigan and around the world. His current research efforts center on the intersection of environmental sustainability, human health, and economic development in regional food systems. He is also considering issues of urban agriculture, regional food systems as a component of national security, and rural-urban partnership strategies to improve food sustainability. He has a Ph.D. in human nutrition from the University of Minnesota, held a NIH post-doctoral fellowship at Columbia University’s Institute of Human Nutrition and was formerly Chair, Dept. of Nutritional Sciences at Rutgers University. Dr. Hamm has been selected to serve as a member of the Food Sustainability and Safety Subcommittee.

Michael G. Perri, Ph.D., ABPP

Dean, College of Public Health and Health Professions; University of Florida; Gainesville, FL.

Dr. Perri is the Robert G. Frank Professor of Clinical and Health Psychology of the University of Florida. His research focuses on health promotion and disease prevention through changes in diet and physical activity. His current studies involve the development of effective programs for the management of obesity in underserved rural communities. Dr. Perri is a fellow of the American Psychological Association, the Society of Behavioral Medicine, and the Obesity Society. He has published numerous scientific papers and book chapters and authored and edited books. Dr. Perri currently serves as chair of the NIH/NHLBI Data and Safety Monitoring Board for the “EARLY Weight Loss Trials;” he previously has served as a member on other NIH data and safety monitoring boards. Dr. Perri has been selected to serve as a member of the Diet and Physical Activity Behavioral Change Subcommittee.

This graphic notice,External Link: You are leaving, means that you are leaving the site and entering a non-Federal Web site. View full disclaimer.


This site is coordinated by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.